On January 1, 2016, California officially increased the minimum wage to $10 per hour. What does this mean for citizens of our state? While each state imposes its own regulations regarding minimum wage, they are all still subject to the federal laws as well.
Minimum Wage Remains a Contentious Matter
In the last few years, the minimum wage has become one of the most hotly contested issues. The federal minimum wage had stayed put at $9 per hour since 2009 and had not seen an increase since then.
Many states began pushing to increase the hourly rates. Before the beginning of the year, California’s minimum wage had been at a steady $9 per hour—one of only seven states at the time. It is interesting to note that some counties and jurisdictions have issued an increased minimum wage for certain occupations or professions. For example, in cities such as Emeryville and San Francisco, the minimum wage is at least $12 per hour.
Los Angeles County has a plan to increase the minimum wage to as much as $15 by the year 2020.
The True Value of Minimum Wage
According to a study from CNN, the value of the federal minimum wage equates to much less than it did in 1968 if adjusted for inflation.
1968 versus 2016:
- 1968 federal minimum wage: $1.60 is valued at $10.56
- 2015 federal minimum wage: $7.25
Therefore, this means that the value of our money is not only less, but it also leaves families at a disadvantage. As a Hollister employment law attorney, Bill Marder knows how important it is to protect the rights of employees. If you have any questions about the laws regarding minimum wage or if you have a dispute with your employer over wages you believe are due to you, please contact the firm today.
Call (888) 796-4010 to schedule your appointment.