California Paid Sick Leave Goes in Effect

As of July 1, 2015, all California employers are required to comply with the paid sick leave policy: Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014. Every employee who works at least 30 days in a year should be eligible to receive some form of paid sick leave after they have completed their initial 90-day waiting period.

These are the following conditions of the follow:

  • Employees must have worked at least 30 days in the year
  • Employees will receive 1 hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked (cap is 48 hours accrued and can be carried over into the next year)
  • Employers can limit the usage of paid sick leave to 24 hours a year
  • Employees can take sick leave for their health or the health of a family member
  • If an employee leaves and is rehired, their paid sick leave must be reinstated
  • The employer must place a sick leave sign in the workplace that is possible to all
  • The amount of sick leave available must be provided on each paystub

It is a good idea to double check with your employer that they are complying with these amendments. If you have any questions regarding this, feel free to consult with our team at any time.

Know Your Rights—Contact Us!

At Polaris Law Group, our Hollister employment law lawyer has been representing employees who have been unfairly treated by their employers. He has over 20 years of experience and has recovered millions. Whether it is by an employer disobeying the laws or failing to uphold the rights of their employees, our attorney is ready to provide legal assistance for your benefit.

Request a free appointment by calling (888) 796-4010.

Related Posts
  • How to Navigate a Layoff or Termination Read More
  • What Are Unreimbursed Expenses? Read More
  • What Should I Do If My Boss Asks Me to Work Off the Clock? Read More